• NEXT: Moves to the next ticket in the ticket list
  • PREVIOUS: Moves to the prior ticket in the ticket list

These new links are located in two places.

The first location is at the top of the TICKET DETAILS metabox. This box is usually located on the right hand side of the ticket, close to the top of the screen.  You can seen an example of this metabox in the above image.

The second location is in another, new metabox called NAVIGATE – by default located at the bottom of the right side of the screen.  The beauty of this second metabox is it only contains these links – which means that it can be moved to where its most convenient for the agent.  Generally an agent would want to move it up to where its parallel to the ticket reply box .

Merging multiple tickets into a single existing ticket is a piece cake – as long as you’re running under WordPress 4.7 or later.  The entire process is initiated from the main ticket list screen in the WordPress Admin dashboard.

Merge Multiple Tickets Into A Single Ticket

  • Open the main tickets dashboard (TICKETS->ALL TICKETS)
  • Check the tickets you want to merge
  • Click the BULK ACTIONS drop-down at the top of the ticket list
  • Select Merge Tickets and click the APPLY button next to the drop-down (see image below)
  • In the popup window search for the target ticket and click on it
  • Click the MERGE button
  • Once the process has been completed, click the CLOSE button

Important Notes About This Process

  1. This is a processor intensive process – if your host gives you limited resources you could experience time-outs.
  2. Attachments are not merged into the new tickets.  However, links in the new ticket give you direct and convenient access to the old tickets where you can view the attachments
  3. All email addresses on the closed tickets are automatically added to the target ticket.

The Ticket Merge function is useful when a customer sends in multiple tickets with the same issue.  Or maybe they open a ticket on the website but then send an email which results in two tickets.

When a ticket is merged, the current ticket (the one you’re viewing) is closed and all of its entries (original post and all replies) are entered into the new ticket as a single entry.

To merge the CURRENT ticket you are viewing into an existing ticket locate the Merge And Lock metabox on the right side of the ticket screen.

Type in the first few characters of the title of the ticket you are merging into in the edit box under the Merge Ticket label.  You will see a list of tickets that match those characters – similar to the image below:

Scroll down the list to select the ticket, hit the ENTER key and then click the MERGE button.

The current ticket you are viewing will be immediately closed and the ticket you chose will have a copy of all the entries from the current ticket.

There will be a brief notice under the opening post of the old ticket to alert any future viewers that the ticket has been merged along with a link to the merged ticket.

Ticket Lock is a handy function for agents and administrators who do not want a closed ticket to be reopened by a customer/client.  The check-box is located on the right side of the ticket screen in a metabox called Merge and Lock.

Simply tick the box next to the Lock Ticket label and update the ticket.  If a customer or client attempts to reopen a ticket they will see the following message:

A metabox on the right hand side of the ticket allows you to manually track time.  It will look similar to the following:

Simply enter the Gross Time spent on the ticket (in the hh:mm:ss format), any notes and click the UPDATE TICKET button.

You can update the Gross Time field anytime you want – eg: after every reply you make.

Time Adjustments

The Time Adjustments field is useful it you want to track any credits for time you’ve given your customer.  So, for example you might spend an hour on a ticket but a customer might dispute that so you or a supervisor might decide to reduce the time billed or recorded by 15 mins. You can enter this adjustment in this field and then select whether the adjustment is positive or negative.  Generally, most adjustments are negative (downwards).

Read Only / View Only Operations

If time tracking is being done by a premium add-on, then this enter metabox might be read-only because time is being recorded and adjusted using a different mechanism.  If that’s the case then there will be a notice shown on the metabox – see example in the image below.

You can add internal notes visible only to other agents.

The button for this option is at the TOP of the ticket screen:

When clicked, the ADD NOTE button will pop up a box to enter your notes:

There are two options:

  • Simply add the note
  • Add the note and transfer the ticket to another agent

Once added, the note appears in a separate color.

To close a ticket, first you should navigate to the ticket.

There are two ways to close a ticket:

Close a ticket without issuing a reply

In the ticket details metabox on the right side of the screen there is a small link called Close.  Just click it and the ticket will update to closed.

The image below show where in the metabox the link is located – see the red box.

Close a ticket with a reply

At the very bottom of the ticket is the reply area.  Fill out your reply and then click the REPLY & CLOSE button.

The image below shows the location of this button in the reply area:

To reply to a ticket, first you should navigate to the ticket.

You should see a screen similar to this one:

The reply area is located at the bottom of the ticket.  Just type your reply to the ticket and click the REPLY button.

  • Click on the TICKETS->All Tickets option (TICKETS is the main menu option in the WordPress Admin menu located on the left side of the dashboard) – this will bring up the list of open tickets.
    • Depending on the options enabled by the Tickets Administrator you might see a list of just your tickets or a list of tickets belonging to all agents
    • If you’re restricted to seeing tickets that you’re assigned, you will still see tickets belonging to other agents if you’re the secondary or tertiary agent assigned to a ticket.
  • Click on the title of the ticket you would like to work with.

Note: you can use the filter options at the top of the screen to search for tickets or to reduce the list of tickets to make it easier to find the one you’re looking for.  You can also use the SEARCH option to search for tickets based on the title or the contents of the opening post.  Unfortunately, search does not work on replies at this time.

To access the Tickets console:

Click on the TICKETS->All Tickets option (TICKETS is the main menu option in the WordPress Admin menu located on the left side of the dashboard)

Your tickets list should look similar to below – depending on the options you have turned on.

The default is to show only OPEN tickets.  To view and respond to an open ticket just click on the title of the ticket.

Website designed & maintained by www.onebrightspark.co.uk